Music: Migos, CULTURE

7681ea2f2fc8ed4d170a43b5a5eb5527-1000x1000x1#1 album on the Billboard 200 chart, week of 2/18/17

What it is: The second studio album from southern rap group Migos, which consists of members Quavo, Takeoff and Offset.

I should note that after having been displaced for several weeks, The Weeknd’s Starboy went back to #1 for four consecutive weeks prior to this. I said it sounded like it was “targeted specifically at the ennui of young people rich enough to afford music festival tickets and too shallow to be able to think of anything better to do,” but while I still think that demographic is disproportionately influencing the music industry, Starboy‘s success indicates it probably reached a broader audience.

Anyway, Migos makes rap music with moody instrumentals, skittering drums, drunken Auto-Tune effects and hedonistic lyrics that vaguely gesture towards an aspirational/rebellious ideology. Like Snapchat, it makes me feel old, as I’ve never really gotten into this sort of thing and at this point probably never will. But plenty of other white hipsters my age seem to love the group, so I don’t know what my problem is. I’m glad everyone else is happy. I like the song “Deadz”!

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music: Migos, CULTURE

  1. Pingback: Music: Future, FUTURE | #1s

  2. Pingback: Music: Future, HNDRXX | #1s

Leave a Reply

