Music: Solange, A SEAT AT THE TABLE

solange_xyeoks#1 album on the Billboard 200 chart, week of 10/22/16

What it is: The third album from R&B singer Solange Knowles, who happens to be Beyoncé’s sister.

My apologies that an apartment search kept me from my appointed rounds last week; for the record, the charttoppers I neglected to review would have been Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, the Shawn Mendes album Illuminate, an episode of Empire, and the film adaptation of The Girl on the Train. Perhaps someday you can find it in your heart to forgive me.

Anyway, I don’t like dynasties. That’s why I was so happy to see Jeb Bush get knocked out of the Republican primaries, and why, even though Michelle Obama seems great, I get nauseous when people start suggesting that she should run for office herself. There are plenty of talented people in America struggling to get recognized; we don’t need famous people’s relatives clogging up the lanes.

Still, I suppose it isn’t Solange’s fault that her sister beat her to stardom, and the fact that she just goes by her given name indicates that she at least isn’t trying to ride Beyoncé’s coattails as hard as she could. And I liked this album! Sometimes it leans too heavily on on-brand Black Twitter buzzwords (“Don’t Touch My Hair,” “Borderline (An Ode to Self-Care)”), but the overall sound is very well-done Sunday morning alt-soul. Good stuff!

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music: Solange, A SEAT AT THE TABLE

  1. Pingback: Music: A Tribe Called Quest, WE GOT IT FROM HERE… THANK YOU 4 YOUR SERVICE | #1s

  2. Pingback: Film: GET OUT | #1s

Leave a Reply

